Follow Us

Log in

Log in

About NAKS

The purpose of the North American Kant Society (NAKS) is to further study of the works of Immanuel Kant from a variety of perspectives. We encourage the participation by scholars and students in all relevant areas: philosophers, political scientists, literary scholars, historians, scholars of religion, etc.

We organize activities and prizes that aim to help students and scholars at different career stages interact and share their work in an atmosphere of cordiality and rigor. 

These are our main initiatives:

  • Markus Herz Student Essay Prize.  Since 2000, this prize has been awarded annually to the best graduate student paper presented at one of our regional Study Group meetings.
  • Wilfrid Sellars Junior Scholar Essay Prize.  This prize was first awarded in 2010. It is given annually for an essay on any topic that demonstrates the continued relevance of Kant’s philosophy.  The goal of the Sellars Prize is to provide recognition to and support for young scholars in the early stages of their careers. "Junior" is defined as fewer than ten years from the receipt of the PhD (or highest degree earned) on the day that submissions are due.
  • NAKS Senior Scholar Prize.  This award represents the capstone of our architectonic system of prizes.  It is awarded for an outstanding article or book (article and book prizes offered on alternating years) that is concerned with any aspect of Kant's or Kantian thought.   "Senior" is defined as at least ten years from the receipt of the Ph.D. (or highest degree earned) on the day that nominations are due.

  • Electronic Newsletter. Our quarterly newsletter is now electronic. Members can find current and prior issues in the "Members Only" section of the website.

  • NAKS Regional Study Groups and Virtual NAKS.

  • Bibliography. This has been complied and edited since 2010 by Steve Naragon, and is available to members on that part of the site.

Kantian philosophy and scholarship in North America are steadily growing in quality, quantity, and influence.  Our goal at NAKS is to support, promote, and celebrate this work.


The North American Kant Society was founded in 1985 at the Sixth International Kant Congress, held at the Pennsylvania State University.  Hoke Robinson founded and served as the first president of NAKS. Karl Ameriks, Sharon Anderson-Gold, Richard Aquila, Patricia Kitcher, Pauline Kleingeld, Robert Louden, Pablo Muchnik, Nelson Potter, Rachel Zuckert and Andrew Chignell have also served as presidents. Past vice presidents include Michelle Grier, Jane Kneller, Pablo Muchnik, Oliver Sensen, Helga Varden, Eric Watkins, Günter Zöller and Huaping Lu-Adler.


Click here to view NAKS's constitution, which was last updated in June 2020.

About us

The North American Kant Society (NAKS) was founded in 1985 at the Sixth International Kant Congress to further the study of Kantian thought and scholarship within a variety of traditions and disciplines.

Become a member

Support the Kantian community in North America and get access to a vibrant network, papers, calls for papers and more.

Contact us

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software