Log in

North American
Kant Society

North American
Kant Society

  • Home
  • Announcements


<< First  < Prev   1   2   3   4   Next >  Last >> 
  • 30 May 2021 11:52 AM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

    Reminder: Wednesday at 1pm ET, Virtual-NAKS continues with the first installment of our "Choose your Ideal Commentators" series.  Claudi Brink (UCSD) will present her 2020 Markus Herz Prize paper "Spontaneity and Teleology in Kant's Theory of the Understanding." The "ideal commentators" selected by Brink are Beatrice Longuenesse (NYU) and Hannah Ginsborg (Berkeley).  More information here: 


  • 02 May 2021 5:54 PM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

    NAKS is pleased to announce a new Virtual-NAKS series that will begin on May 19, 2021 and run on alternating Wednesdays from 1-2:30pm. 

    A preliminary program with registration link is available here.

  • 15 Apr 2021 5:36 PM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

    NAKS is pleased to launch a Women Scholars Network and invite women Kant scholars from all career stages to join. Here are two broad categories of eligible scholars: (1) PhD candidates who are well into their dissertation work, and (2) scholars who have already received a PhD, regardless of their employment situations (see the application form linked below for more fine-grained distinctions in the latter category).

    Interested participants will form various small cohorts according to their research interests/projects. Each cohort will include 4-6 members from different career stages (see the application form for how the stages are divided). This cohort structure will provide opportunities for informal mentoring, mutual support, and exchange of experiences, ideas, perspectives, etc. among the peers. All in all, the network is meant to be a give-and-take relationship among the participants.

    Eligibility: All current NAKS members who self-identify as women, belong in one of the two categories specified above, and use English as one of their primary languages of research. If you are not yet a NAKS member, please follow this link to become one (note that student membership is now free) or reactivate your previously lapsed membership.

    How to apply: fill out this form by Saturday, April 17.

    What to expect: You will receive an email from Huaping Lu-Adler by Friday, April 30. The email will likely be addressed to the entire cohort to which you are assigned, with detailed instructions about next steps.

    Organizer/Contact:   Huaping Lu-Adler (hl530@georgetown.edu)

    Postdoctoral Assistant: Elizabeth X Li (exli@princeton.edu)

    Board of Advisors:    Anne Margaret Baxley, Patricia KitcherPauline Kleingeld, Rhoda Kotzin, Helga Varden, Rachel Zuckert

    Acknowledgements: We thank all the women scholars who have inspired the idea of this initiative through their yearslong practice of mentoring (formally or informally) younger generations of women. Without them, many of us would not be where we are today. Thanks also to Andrew Chignell (President-Secretary of NAKS) and Eric Watkins (President of the Board of Trustees) for their support of the initiative, and to the Princeton University Center for Human Values for sponsoring the work of Dr. Li.

  • 31 Mar 2021 5:08 PM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

    NAKS is pleased to announce that Claudi Brink (UC-San Diego) has won the 2020 Markus Herz Prize for her paper (submitted to the Pacific Study Group):  “Teleology and Spontaneity in Kant’s Theory of Understanding.”

    Congratulations Claudi!

  • 15 Mar 2021 5:00 PM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

    NAKS is now offering free membership to anyone who is an active graduate or undergraduate student.  This change is sponsored by donations and dues from employed scholars (for which we are very grateful).  We hope that this will allow as many students as are interested to join NAKS.

  • 01 Oct 2020 4:06 PM | Anonymous member (Administrator)


    The North American Kant Society is happy to announce that Andrew Chignell (Princeton) and Huaping Lu-Adler (Georgetown) have been elected as the new President and Vice President of NAKS.  They will serve for 3 years. 

    Anne Margaret Baxley (Washington University - St. Louis) will continue in her role as Treasurer, and Noam Hoffer (Bar-Ilan University) remains as technical consultant.

    The Advisory Committee has been renamed the Board of Trustees.  Eric Watkins (UC-San Diego) is the Chair of the Board.

  • 22 May 2020 4:07 PM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

    The 2020 book prize is awarded to:

    Marcus Willaschek, Kant on the Sources of Metaphysics: The Dialectic of Pure Reason, Cambridge University Press

  • 14 May 2020 5:08 PM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

    The Sellars prize for 2020 is awarded to:
    Andrew Stephenson, University of Southampton for his paper, "Existence, Modality, and Imagination in Kant: Lessons from Barcan"

  • 04 May 2020 1:03 PM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

    Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the NAKS 2020 Biennial will be held on zoom from June 5-June 8. More info: https://bnaks2020.weebly.com/


    You must be a member of NAKS to register for the conference here:


    Each panel on the program has been given a number. Please provide the number for the panel(s) you wish to attend. 

    All the papers are available in the Members only section.

    You will receive a zoom link for each of the panels you have selected by June 4.

    If you already registered before May 1, you will need to reregister.

    --We hope that you will use the lunch breaks and the evenings after the panels to invite others to join you on your own zoom links to continue the conversation.  Hopefully, this zoom conference can be as rewarding as it would be if we were all together in Binghamton.


  • 10 Dec 2019 7:20 AM | Anonymous member (Administrator)
    Rosalind Chaplin has been awarded the 2019 Markus Herz prize for her paper, "Indeterminacy and Potential Infinity in Kant's Second Antinomy” .
<< First  < Prev   1   2   3   4   Next >  Last >> 

 2009-2020 North American Kant Society. All Rights Reserved.
The "North American Kant Society" is a 501(3)(c) non-profit organization.