To print this page properly - use Print icon located on the page.
Please note that JavaScript has to be enabled.


NAKS was founded in 1985 at the Sixth International Kant Congress, held at the Pennsylvania State University. The goal of the society is to further the study of Kantian thought and scholarship from a variety of traditions and disciplines. For this purpose, we organize multiple activities (regional study groups, APA meetings, publications, prizes, etc.), which help students and scholars at different stages of their careers to interact and share their work in an atmosphere of both cordiality and philosophical rigor.

We are pleased to announce a few new initiatives:
  • Wilfrid Sellars Essay Prize. Open to all junior (i.e., non-tenured PhD-holding scholars 40 years of age or younger) NAKS members, this new prize will be awarded annually for the best essay on any topic that demonstrates the continued relevance of Kant’s philosophy. The goal is to provide recognition to and support for young scholars in the early stages of their careers. 
  • New Book Prize for Senior Scholars. Open to senior faculty (40 years of age or older), prize will be awarded for an outstanding book dealing with any aspect of Kant’s philosophy.  This award represents the capstone of our system of prizes, which includes the Markus Herz Prize for graduate students (started in 2000) and the Wilfrid Sellars Prize for untenured faculty (first awarded in 2010).
  • Electronic Newsletter. Our quarterly newsletter is now electronic. Members can find current and prior issues in the "Members Only" section of the website.
  • New Submission Policy for Papers Submitted to NAKS Study Groups. Beginning last year, everyone who submits a paper to any of the NAKS Study Groups must be a current member of NAKS. This change is modeled on current APA policy, and is meant to help increase the membership of our organization.
  • Kant Blog. Our goal is to facilitate and contribute to the ongoing discussion of Kantian thought among our members through the use of new technologies.
  • Updated Bibliography. Felicitas Munzel, the NAKS bibliographer until 2009, has recently sent us an update that is now available on the website.
Hoke Robinson founded and served as the first president of NAKS. Karl Ameriks, Richard Aquila, Nelson Potter, Pauline Kleingeld, Patricia Kitcher, and Sharon Anderson-Gold have also served as presidents. Past vice presidents include Günter Zöller, Jane Kneller, Eric Watkins, and Michelle Grier. Our bibliographers have been Manfred Kuehn and Felicitas Munzel.

The NAKS advisory board is composed of Henry Allison (University of California, Davis), Karl Ameriks (University of Notre Dame), Richard Aquila (University of Tennessee), Paul Guyer (University of Pennsylvania), Rhoda Kotzin (Michigan State University), Jane Kneller (Colorado State University), Manfred Kuehn (Boston University), Ralf Meerbote (University of Rochester), Nelson Potter (University of Nebraska), Hoke Robinson (University of Memphis), Allen Wood (Stanford University), and Guenter Zoeller (University of Munich).

Kantian philosophy and scholarship in North America are steadily growing in influence and sheer quantity alike. The quality of the work being done is truly outstanding. At NAKS we are very proud of these facts and make every effort to promote and celebrate them. Please feel free to contact us if you have any suggestions or concerns. We look forward to your participation in our society.

Robert Louden, President
Pablo Muchnik, Vice-President

© 2009 North American Kant Society. All Rights Reserved.